Dublin City Jazz Orchestra present Independent Airs at the Sugar Club

Sunday 3 December Concert at 8.30pm, Doors at 7.30pm

The last concert of the series celebrating 35 years of Jazz on the Terrace features Dublin City Jazz Orchestra.

The orchestra was founded in 2007 by Ciaran Wilde and Ray Martin to enable students at the Ballymun Wind Project to see and hear a big band as an encouragement to them in their studies.

Since its foundation the Orchestra has performed well over 50 concerts. Irish Artists that have appeared with the DCJO include Mary Coughlan, Christine Tobin, David O’Rourke, the Limerick Choir An Cór, Lauren Kinsella, Suzanne Savage and Charlie Moon.

International Artists that have performed as featured guests include David Linx (Belgium), Anders Bergcrantz (Sweden), Rick Margitza (USA), Cyrille Aimee (France), Sara Lazarus (France), Laura MacDonald (Scotland), Tina May (England), Cleveland Watkiss (England), Maurice Chestnut (USA), Pete Churchill (England), Norma Winstone (England), Claire Daly (USA), Ellister van der Molen (Netherlands), Laura Jurd (England), Ernie Watts (USA), Kenny Werner (USA), Marshall Gilkes (USA) and John Riley (USA).

Book your tickets online for €15 or pay on the door €17.

Don’t forget you can book tickets for the entire series of 8 concerts online. Take your pick or buy a pass for all 8 for €100, saving up to €36.

The Return Flight of the Earls at The Bello Bar

Wednesday 29th November | Thursday 30th November | Friday 1st December.

The Return Flight of the Earls celebrates Irish jazz musicians living and working abroad. Eight Irish performers return from France, Spain, Germany, England and the USA. They will bring many aspects of their life abroad to this grand reunion. There will be new compositions for the occasion, new groups formed and some new musical friendships.

The returning earls of jazz are Michael Coady (Barcelona), Anthony Kerr (London), Matthew Halpin (Cologne), David Mason (New York), Gerard Murphy (Marseille), Fintan O’Neill (New York), Paddy Sherlock (Paris) and Christine Tobin (London and New York). There are two honorary Earls. These are Veronika Morscher (Cologne) and Phil Robson (London and New York).

These musicians will be joined by eighteen musicians that live and work in Ireland, forming groups, playing three sets each evening, in a joyous celebration of “The Return Flight of the Earls”.

SET 1:
Fintan O’Neill, piano
Gerard Murphy, saxophone
Paddy Sherlock, trombone/ voice
William Blackmore, trumpet
Anthony Kerr, vibraharp
Neil Ó Loclainn, double bass
Shane O’Donovan, drums

Book a ticket for Night 1 of The Return Flight of the Earls.

Online only price €15, €17 on the door

SET 2:
Micheal Coady,  double bass
Matthew Halpin, saxophone
Nigel Mooney, guitar/voice
Scott Flanigan, piano/ hammond
Dominic Mullan, drums

Book a ticket for Night 2 of The Return Flight of the Earls.

Online only price €15, €17 on the door

SET 3:
Matthew Halpin, saxophone
Christine Tobin, voice
Paddy Sherlock, trombone/ voice
Gerard Murphy, saxophone
Anthony Kerr, vibraharp
Phil Robson, guitar
Fintain O’Neill, piano
Michael Coady, double bass
David Mason, drums

Book a ticket for Night 2 of The Return Flight of the Earls.

Online only price €15, €17 on the door

Book a three night pass for €35. Only available online.
€17 on the door.